2006 Pulitzer Prizes Announced

April 18th, 2006 11:18 AM

  Winners of the biggest prize of all, the 2006 Pulitzer Prize for excellence in journalism, were announced.

Brent Baker has already discussed some of the winners, given to journalists who undermined the anti-terror program. Romenesko has a good compilation of all of them.

* Public Service: New Orleans Times-Picayune; Biloxi Sun Herald.
* Breaking News: Times-Picayune.
* Investigative Reporting: Susan Schmidt, James V. Grimaldi and R. Jeffrey Smith of the Washington Post.
* Explanatory Reporting: David Finkel of the Washington Post.
* Beat Reporting: Dana Priest of the Washington Post.
* National Reporting: James Risen and Eric Lichtblau of the New York Times; staffs of the San Diego Union-Tribune and Copley News Service.
* International Reporting: Joseph Kahn and Jim Yardley of the New York Times.
* Editorial Writing: Doug Bates and Rick Attig of the Oregonian.
* Feature Writing: Jim Sheeler of the Rocky Mountain News.
* Commentary: Nicholas D. Kristof of the New York Times.
* Criticism: Robin Givhan of the Washington Post.
* Editorial Cartooning: Mike Luckovich of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.
* Feature Photography: Todd Heisler of the Rocky Mountain News.
* Breaking News Photography: Dallas Morning News.
* Bios, jurors and more || Finalists list
> Board overrules judges, elevates T-P to Public Service winner (E&P)
> Pulitzer judges honored many types of great watchdog reporting (AJR)
> Pulitzer-winner Stern says regional papers can keep pols honest (E&P)
> Coffee and cookies, but no countdown clock, at Pulitzer event (Gawker)