MRC DisHonors Awards Recap

March 30th, 2007 12:15 PM

Last Night the MRC hosted its 20th Anniversary Gala, featuring the ever-popular DisHonors Awards. The DisHonors mockingly award liberal media fixtures for the worst incidents of bias or buffoonery in the mainstream media from the year prior. This year was no exception.

Below are a list of the award categories and their winners. They link to the MRC pages containing the worst of the worst in media bias from 2006.

God, I Hate America Award

Arthur Sulzberger, Jr., New York Times publisher, for his May 21, 2006 graduation address in which he apologized to SUNY-New Paltz graduates that they were "graduating into an America fighting a misbegotten war in a foreign land."

See the full quote, which also won Quote of the Year, here.

Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis

CBS's Katie Couric, for using a schoolyard quip-- "Who made us the boss of them?"-- to question Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice on foreign policy.

See full quote here.

The I'm Not a Political Genius But I Play One on TV Award

'The View' co-host Rosie O'Donnell for saying "radical" Christians were as present a threat to America as radical Muslims.

See full quote here.

Tin Foil Hat Award for Crazy Conspiracy Theories

CNN's Jack Cafferty, hinting that an Osama bin Laden videotape release may have been timed to take wiretapping hearings out of the media's focus.

See full quote here.

Puppy Love Award

ABC 'World News' anchor Charles Gibson forhis fawning treatment of new Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) on the Jan. 4, 2007 program.

See full quote here.