Internet behemoth Google on Sunday declared the conservative website Lucianne, founded by Lucianne Goldberg, harmful to computers.
Oddly, as NewsBusters reported, the same thing happened to the conservative website "American Spectator" almost exactly a year ago.
If you do a regular Google web search of the word "Lucianne," the following is the first result:
Lucianne.com News ForumThis site may harm your computer.
Dec 21, 2008 ... Forum for posting and discussion of current news items of a political bent. Includes selections by columnist Lucianne Goldberg.
www.lucianne.com/ - Similar pages


Reported Attack Site!
This web site at lucianne.com has been reported as an attack site and has been blocked based on your security preferences.
Attack sites try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.
Some attack sites intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.
Fascinating.Safe BrowsingDiagnostic page for lucianne.comWhat is the current listing status for lucianne.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 309 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2008-12-20, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2008-12-20.Malicious software includes 8 trojan(s), 5 exploit(s), 4 worm(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 3 new processes on the target machine.
Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including b81.8800.org/, k70.9966.org/, w32.9966.org/.
This site was hosted on 2 network(s) including AS10532 (RACKSPACE), AS15169 (GOOGLE).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, lucianne.com appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 1 site(s) including dartsearch.net/.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:
- Return to the previous page.
- If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
—Noel Sheppard is the Associate Editor of NewsBusters. Follow him at Facebook and Twitter.




















Editor at Large
Comments Policy
It probably has something to do with their Ad Hosting Company
December 21, 2008 - 22:35 ET by PopularTechIntermarkets and Adgardener
"2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent."
All it takes is one bad script.
Carbon Dioxide (CO2) is Not Pollution
Liberals were also falsely
December 22, 2008 - 11:28 ET by TailgunnerLiberals were also falsely flagging conservative YouTube vids as 'spam' to get them shut down.
It wouldn't be hard for some punk anarchist hacker to plant a virus on a conservative site to get it similarly flagged.
LIBERALS LIE, ALL THE TIME, ABOUT EVERYTHING.
Google is biased against Conservatives, However...
December 21, 2008 - 22:43 ET by tnculpThis isn't uncommon lately, especially with any website with comments or forums. All it takes in an injection or link to a website and the system can tag you as a Malware/virus spreading website, which is technically accurate, but it's not the website's fault.
I highly doubt this Google up to no good. I also believe they can clean up the malware links, issues and contact Google to manually check it, otherwise, they'll have to wait for their site to be spidered and removed from the Malware list, which could take awhile.
Right Tracker - Conservative Blog Directory
Maybe
December 22, 2008 - 02:16 ET by ahusserI read somewhere that Brin and Page, both very liberal, picked CEO Eric Schmidt based on his tech business saavy and his liberal ideology and anti-war politics (I did read it truly I did but I cannot find the source I used on the internet, I need it because Google keeps coming up in NB blogs). Google has shown its extreme liberalness at times. And this from a Wiki article (I know not the most trusted source):
Schmidt is an informal advisor to the Barack Obama presidential campaign and began campaigning the week of October 19, 2008, on behalf of the candidate. [18] He has been mentioned as a possible candidate for the new Chief Technology Officer position which Obama has promised to create in his administration. [19] In announcing his endorsement for Obama, Schmidt jokingly said that with his $1.00 salary, he would be getting a tax cut. [20]
Eric E. Schmidt is a member of President-elect Obama´s transition advisory board. He proposed that the easiest way to solve all of our problems at once, at least in domestic policy, is by a stimulus program that rewards renewable energy and, over time, attempts to replace fossil fuels with renewable energy [21].
The CEO and founders are tried and true liberals with CEO Schmidt a product of a suburban DC upbringing (usually very liberal) and a a UC Berkeley education. Whether they can keep their the liberal ideology off of their website remains to be seen.
same thing happened..
December 21, 2008 - 22:53 ET by jackie3Same thing happened to another site I visit. The other site was for the women's pilot program of ww2. The owner siad someone had hacked into the site and planted some sort of virus.
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
Unblocked now.
December 22, 2008 - 03:10 ET by bobdogIt's possible, but I don't think I would assume Google was up to no good.
I have a client who was infected twice in the past month and another infected once. There was a line of javascript inserted in both cases which pointed to an infected site.
This happened to one site
December 22, 2008 - 13:57 ET by andophiroxiaThis happened to one site that I also visit. How you need to correct this is to contact Google and get that cleared up. ANYONE can report you as well maliciously. Who knows, there's a lot of destructive people out there.
“You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.” ~ Winston Churchill
No problems with my copy of Firefox 3.0.5
December 22, 2008 - 03:35 ET by RonCPerhaps something was fixed at lucianne.com - whatever took place, I had no problem loading the page without comment from the browser.
RonC -- I find F3 to be
December 22, 2008 - 04:31 ET by Jack BauerRonC -- I find F3 to be irritating as it displays sites with width scroll bars, so NB, for instance, I have to constantly scroll left to right to read the right column!
2 is perfect!
Jack, I have FF 3.0.5 and I
December 22, 2008 - 06:32 ET by motherbeltJack, I have FF 3.0.5 and I don't have any width scroll bars.Could it be something in your settings?
Mmmm, I wonder what? This
December 22, 2008 - 08:06 ET by Jack BauerMmmm, I wonder what? This is the settings right after installation.
Safari is the same. But IE and Firefox 2 display correctly in the full screen, even when text in enlarged.
If anyone has a clue. let me know.
Have you tried uninstalling
December 22, 2008 - 08:36 ET by motherbeltHave you tried uninstalling and then re-installing?
That's usually my first line of attack. LOL
Font Size
December 22, 2008 - 12:33 ET by CobraManPerhaps your default font size is causing the pages to render bigger than you like? Try setting the font size smaller and see what happens.
Obama: My job is above my pay grade
You do know it's the
December 22, 2008 - 08:28 ET by amiesYou do know it's the scripts in the ads that kick of the malicious site warnings? It's not a warning generated after a quick scan of the site content.
I have also had warnings kick of due to shoddy scripting in the page code too.
Google
December 22, 2008 - 10:27 ET by cassratI have never used Google and never will! If I want to search the web, I use other search engines.
Never try to teach a Liberal. It wastes your time and irritates the Liberal
I yam what I yam....Popeye.
December 22, 2008 - 12:22 ET by SaluteI yam what I yam....Popeye.
Lucianne.com has a worse problem....
December 22, 2008 - 12:29 ET by SaluteLucianne.com has a worse problem and that is if a poster disagrees with the moderator/editor on duty. I support the no profanity, lewdness, and no personal attack policies but disagreeing with the moderator can get you banned from posting forever. The site is dead-set against the fairness doctrine but have their own special version. BTW, I don't trust Google whatsoever since they have caved to the the Chinese communist gov't....forget principle they would rather have the big bucks.
I yam what I yam....Popeye.
Google is the Devil
December 22, 2008 - 23:40 ET by nwahsStick to Lycos, Web Crawler and Excite. Google is Satan.
:)
Oops... Google did it again!
January 12, 2009 - 16:36 ET by buzzyboopI got the attack site page again, although this was part of the message I got when I clicked "Why was this site blocked?"
What is the current listing status for lucianne.com?
What happened when Google visited this site?
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Has this site hosted malware?
How did this happen?
Government is the only enterprise in the world which expands in size
when its failures increase. -- DC Circuit Judge Janice Rogers Brown
Lucianne
January 13, 2009 - 15:00 ET by BarbThe site was up again today for a few hours. I got on there and read lots of the news articles. Now it's down again. Apparently, someone is trying to bring the site down for good.