Google Redux: Amer. Spectator 'Site May Harm Your Computer'

Photo of Noel Sheppard.
  • Bookmark and Share

The good folks at Google are at it again, for if you do a web search for the conservative magazine "The American Spectator," a disclaimer says:

The American Spectator

This site may harm your computer.
Features opinions, reviews, and an interactive section, as well as archives of the monthly.
www.spectator.org/ - Similar pages - Note this

Click on "The American Spectator" link, and a message reads (h/t Ed Driscoll):

Story Continues Below Ad ↓

Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!

Suggestions:

Or you can continue to http://www.spectator.org/ at your own risk. For detailed information about the problems we found, visit Google's Safe Browsing diagnostic page for this site.
If you click on the "Safe Browsing diagnostic page" link, you get the following (h/t NB reader Vic McDonald):

Safe Browsing

Diagnostic page for www.spectator.org/

What is the current listing status for www.spectator.org/?

Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 89 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 1 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 06/28/2008, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 04/05/2008.

Malicious software is hosted on 2 domain(s), including h25.6600.org, dns5.8866.org.

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

Over the past 90 days, www.spectator.org/ did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?

No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?

In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

If suspicious content was last found on April 5, why is the site being flagged now?

Readers should recall that NewsBusters reported similar suspicious activity last December.

—Noel Sheppard is the Associate Editor of NewsBusters. Follow him at Facebook and Twitter.


Comments Policy

All comments are owned by whoever posted them and are subject to our terms of use. They should not be assumed to represent the views of NewsBusters.

Viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

I don't think...

  that Google does this purposefully.  I think that, just like Wikipedia, Google is easily manipulated by some users.

  Google is a business, and they know that by angering half of their users, they will lose business and lose money.  Although their political leanings might keep them from investigating this issue for awhile, once they start receiving loads of angry emails and a drop in their search engine usage, they will move their investigation pretty quick.  Google will try to push the line with Conservatives, but eventually they will back down.  It's all about the bottom line.

  Strangely enough, my Norton anti-virus sometimes makes me go through the "fraudulent page" pony show too, including tonight as I was coming over to the Newsbusters site.  Usually it only does it to me as I am going to the Townhall site.

This is odd, and it *might* be a false alarm

Clicking the 2 links reveals:

Has this site hosted malware?

Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 87 domain(s), including aussieindolanka.com, poetryamerica.com, funk45.com.

and

Has this site hosted malware?

Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 87 domain(s), including aussieindolanka.com, poetryamerica.com, sears.com.mx.

It seems strange that their examples of "87 domain(s)" reveal 2 of the same names, just as it's odd that both have exactly 87 victims. On the other hand, it's not in any way Google's fault that many webmasters treat security as an afterthought at best, and Google has every right to warn Google users about sites potentially containing malware.
JMR

The tax & spend drug war looks racist in the real world.

Google doesn't list aussieindolanka.com as suspicious

Funny Google lists American Spectator as suspicious but not aussieindolanka. Yet it gives the following for aussieindolanka.

__

Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for aussieindolanka.com/

What is the current listing status for aussieindolanka.com/?

This site is not listed as suspicious.

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 885 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 310 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 06/01/2008, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 05/17/2008.

Malicious software includes 13 scripting exploit(s), 13 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 6 new processes on the target machine.

Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including dns5.8866.org, h25.6600.org, w11.6600.org.

1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including h28.8800.org.

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

Over the past 90 days, aussieindolanka.com/ did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?

No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

Next steps:

Well then shouldn't Google

Well then shouldn't Google post this warning for every web site? The real problem is they do not give you a portal to go to the site other than copy/paste or typing the site in.

Yeah.

They got one of my news bookmarks.  Interesting that.  I just went to the Americanprowler.com site instead, and it came up just fine.  Redirect compromise?  Who knows.  Some web geek.

I don't personally use Google, they're in league with "world" entities that stomp on individual freedom.  If they're willing to sleep with the ChiComms and N.Korea to get into those countries, no thanks.

Chivalry Is Not Dead

Bias at Mozilla and Google

I reported this to Mozilla and sent an email to the American Spectator

Telling them that if this is true, they should let loose the attack dogs (lawyers). In other words SUE EM

Google won't even let me in

I just tested it via Google search. Google gave the warning noted, however my Advanquest software gave it an OK. When you click on the link IT WILL NOT let me in! It says it is a link that you can go at your own risk, BUT it is not a link that can be clicked! It is just TEXT! --------------------------------Snip----------------------- Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!

I don't patronize

I don't patronize Skroogle.  I even quit my blogspot site when those slimebags took it over.

This is truly Stalinist

This is truly Stalinist tactics. These people are the neo-Stalinists of the day. They're not for freedom unless it completely agrees with their ideology. They are dangerous and need to be stopped.

____________________________________________________

"A society that puts equality...ahead of freedom will end up with neither equality nor freedom." ~ Milton Friedman

LBZ... See my link

LBZ...

See my link below.

45 Communist Goals for America http://www.nationmakers.com/com_goals.htm

Knowing the people that I

Knowing the people that I know who work for Google, yes, it is intentional. 

The place is populated by true believers.

Silicon Valley in general is populated by highly paid engineers and tech geeks, many of whom support higher taxes on the "wealthy" and "middle class tax cuts" might somehow apply to themselves at $150k a year, and truly believe that Bush is the anti-christ.  

Yes, pranksters get in there an deface things. Just like on Wikipedia. However, from the top down, Google has far-left leaning sympathies and they're not in any hurry to protect any kind of free speech they don't completely agree with.